REASON IN WESTERN CIVILIZATION

By | Cognitive Science, Critical Essays, Psychology, Western Civilisation | No Comments

Or what it means to be a rationalist in our time For years now, I have heard people speak sceptically, even dismissively, about ‘Western logic’ or ‘Cartesian rationalism’, as if the ills of the modern world are largely to be blamed on an excess of reason in Western civilization. I feel pretty much at home in the Rationalist Society because I believe such notions are fundamentally erroneous. In writing this for readers of The Australian Rationalist, I am, in all probability, preaching to the converted, but even among members of the Rationalist Society of Australia there is, I suspect, quite…

Read More

SUPERB HISTORY OF WAR THAT SHAPED THE CURRENT MIDDLE EAST

By | Book reviews for the press, Geopolitics, History | No Comments

  Thucydidean in tone and narrative style – dispassionate, systematic, detailed, rational and humane. Remarkable blow by blow account of the military campaign, supported by 30 detailed maps Published in French in 2013, it catches the Arab Spring and the Turkish armistice with the PUK, but misses the unravelling of the Arab Spring, the disintegration of Syria and the collapse of the brief peace between the Turkish government and the Kurdish nationalists French, but not pro-French – Valmy, Robespierre (Ali Khamenei) and Danton (Rafsanjani), but critical, detailed and slightly caustic treatment of French relations with the two warring states and…

Read More